Tags

, , , , , , , ,

At first, I have some picture of our last vacation trip to Colorado, it’s my pleasure to share with you for now, until I write the whole trip report in a separate post later, here is some to enjoy the scenes.


The scene of the suspended bridge from the highest point in the region.


Rated as the world’s scariest ride ever near the edge of the mountains at royal gorge region in Colorado spring, Colorado.


The bridge and the cable car while riding The Royal Gorge Railway.

This is our second time to Colorado, this time we spend it in Colorado spring region most of the time, the fascinating canyon city (where the highest suspended bridge, along the Arkansas river) Colorado spring is a place that’s more than just another destination; it’s the experience of a lifetime.

Here is me, my beloved husband and my three little cowboys at Garden of Gods.
Hope you enjoyed those pictures, and be ready for the rest.

But for now, let’s talk about my very favourite dish ever.

Mujadara is a very popular middle eastern dish. Will known in levant countries of Palestine, Jordan, Syria, Lebanon, and egypt as a poor man’s dish,  but it’s also a very nutritious vegetarian meal especially if served with fresh vegetable salad.

Very light, easy and fast preparing, for me, it’s the rescuer dish, since I sometimes have no interest in preparing anything, then think of mujadara as it’s the fast and all of my family love it. My husband’s work mates first time tried it, they asked for the recipe, my husband told them it’s the famous Palestinian’s noodles version.

Mujadara

1 cup brown lentil
1 1\4  cup basmati rice
2 onions sliced
olive oil
1\2 teaspoon cumin
1\4 teaspoon ground all spice
1\2 teaspoon sumac
1\4 teaspoon ground coriander
1\4 teaspoon Turmeric (for the yelow color)
salt and pepper

wash the lentils thins cover it with water and bring it to boil, let it cook covered on medium low heat until nearly tender, about 10 min.
At this time, in another pot sauté the onions with 3-4 tablespoon olive oil, add dash of each of the spice, sizzle the onions until nearly brownish but still crispy.
To the cooked lentils, add the washed rice, 2 tablespoon of the sautéed onion, 2 tablespoon olive oil, all the spices, 1&2\3 cup hot water or stock (I used chicken stock), bring it to boil, cover and continue to cook in very low heat until the rice fully cooked about 10 min.
Serve it with the sautéed onions on top, with a side of fresh vegetable salad, or cucumber and yogurt dip
Enjoy.